Some people think that the best way to improve road transport safe is to let the driver test each year. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

There is no doubt that traffic security has become a huge problem in many countries. In my view, solving this problem is unlikely to need a simple ever-year driver examination. While it is undeniable that the behaviour of the driver is one of the main causes of traffic accidents, the test of the driver is unlikely to significantly regulate the misbehaviour of drivers. As some people who are not considered the driving test is important, they just regard the driving test as a task that had to accomplish rather than a way to improve their driving safety. Therefore, driver test cannot serve their purpose very well. But there are various other measures that would have huge effects on addressing deteriorating traffic safety. A better solution to tackle traffic accidents is to severely punish drivers who have unresponsible behaviours. It is undeniable that some transport accidents are caused by driver ’s distraction such as checking messages on mobile phones or having calls with others. If these drivers could be punished harshly, such as charging a hefty fine or putting them into prison, they will reflect on their misbehaviours and learn a lesson from it, which can prevent them from inconsiderate behaviours. Moreover, it also can have a deterrent effect on other people. For instance, if some people want to use mobile phones when they are driving, they could consider the severe consequences, and then terminate dangerous behaviours, curbing transport accidents directly. In conclusion, although the driver test is useful for people to go over the traffic regulations, this solution is not the best one because not a lot of people would treat it correctly. Therefore, we should seek other better solutions such as harsh punishments.