Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

On the one hand, many people are of the view that students should have a choice to select their field of study. On the contrary, others are in favour of constant supervision of education. In my perspective, both authorities and individuals will get benefits, if scholars are properly guided. Subject matter experts and authorities can provide useful insights when it comes to pursuing a field of study. As authorities always have data, they are definitely aware of the occupations where there is a shortage of skills or professions where skills are surplus. In this way, not only governments will get enough human resources to narrow down the gap between skills supply and demand but also individuals will secure jobs in their careers. For instance, Australia has already declared a skills shortage occupation list and has data about which occupation is required for a certain region, state, or federal level and immigrants are evaluated on this criteria. Thus, humans are getting roles in industry and organisations are finding highly qualified resources when students are guided properly. Conversely, students will perform well if they have a choice to select their subjects. When students are studying their favourite subjects, they putin alot of energy and enthusiasm which helps them to master their skill set. As a result, they provide top-notch services with high-end results after graduation. For example, many graphic designers around the world, master their niche and have lots of work in the queue because of the expertise they have as a result they are satisfied with their jobs. Hence, humans deliver extraordinary services provided they have an interest in the field. In conclusion, lots of people want to allow students to pursue studies in their favourite fields. While others are in favour of fields that are relevant. According to me, students should be guided for the betterment of society.