Some countries import a large amount of food from other parts of the world. To what extent is this a positive or negative trend?

Due to the increase in the import industry, nations can have various types of eatable products available to them. In my view, it is a positive development but with some serious concern towards economy and environment. To begin with, people has benefited from an increase in foreign goods. It helps to provide essential food items to the population, which is not easily cultivated in their region. Moreover, residents are restricted to only a few nutritious items. The middle east region, for example, with having no agricultural region for the cultivation of nutritional vegetables and fruits. So the dependence grows more on the import from countries such as India and Bangladesh. As a result, residents now have greater access to nutritious food, which in turns increase life expectancy and quality of life. Despite its pros, it can have serious repercussions on the economy and environment. As the nation promote more imported goods which can have a detrimental affect on local goods. In addition, the local productivity of the nation will be decreased and the country may fall into recession. Another reason is that if the exporting countries are not in a great situation to fulfil the demand of the other countries, it affects the supply chain to other countries. For instances, India is a major exporter to middle eastern countries in cultivated foods. However, when India's production is lowered it has a discernible impact on import-dependent countries. To summarise, countries increase in dependency on imported goods can have a tremendous benefit on the population but at the same time it can affect the local production and economy