Some people believe that it is a good idea to share as much information as possible in scientific research, business and the academic world. other believe that some information is too important or too valuable to be shared freely.

Knowledge is power. Freedom of speech and expression is a crucial part of our society. Within this culture, some people are of the opinion that by sharing information freely among all individuals, the world could be benefitted. Although giving away data freely, could lead to the rapid development of science and humanity as a whole, I believe it should not be solicited without pay because statistics need finance and security. Firstly, scientific breakthroughs can be achieved faster when people do not need financial backing to acquire the necessary details. There are many brilliant scientists who do not have the funds to complete their research. For example, Dr Hofstader of Caltech University came to the excellent conclusion theoretically that could have renewed the understanding of Molecular Physics and helped to make spacecraft lighter and less prone to bursting upon entering or leaving the atmosphere due to friction. But only proving his theory required a minimum of eight hundred million dollars funding. However, his thesis has been publicised widely making the exact facts and figures easily accessible. This led other scientists of Munich University in Germany to perfect their model of a flying car which was sold to the company Tesla for a billion dollars helping their organisation gain money for other research work previously thought impossible. Even though in this circumstance, free knowledge is beneficial, it is not always the case. Now, certain types of information in the wrong hands could lead to a devastating state of affairs. I would like to cite the instance of Hiroshima and Nagasaki nuclear bombings in November 1945. The nuclear theory devised by Albert Einstein and taught by him to his pupils at Caltech University. His idea did not include human pain and suffering rather he wanted advancement in power supply across the United States as nuclear energy could mean an inexhaustible source of fuel. As a teacher, Einstein's work wasn't classified. The US military used this to their advantage leading to one of the greatest anthropologically caused human tragedies. Clearly, not all valuable stats help to make our earth a better place. To conclude, giving as many facts pro bono as possible, might be useful at times but can also be detrimental to society. Some people might be of the former judgement, I strongly believe the opposite. Humankind must be careful of what facts they consider worthy of making public.