Some people believe that children of all ages should have extra responsibilities (for example, helping at home or work). Others believe that children should be free to enjoy their lives outside of school.

It is often said individuals ranging from toddlers to teenagers, everyone should contribute in the same way in household work while others say it would be an obstacle to their growth and hinders freedom to enjoyment. On the one hand, the prominent reason behind this approach is that increased responsibility encourages greater maturity and self-reliance. To be more precise, by actively participating in household chores, skills like time management and organization in different environments equip them with practical skills that will serve them in the future. For example, most teenagers who do not know how to clean their room and are not habitual in putting things in the right places are viewed as childish by their peers. Hence, the aforementioned example vividly illustrates why equal responsibilities should be given to everyone. On the other hand, children should primarily focus on exploration, play, and personal development. To explain more, at an early age, it is required for children to engage themselves in activities that promote the physical, mental, and emotional well-being of an individual. Moreover, carefree enjoyment and unstructured playtime allow children to find real happiness as well as will help creativity, and enhance the imagination power. Not only this, it will help in building their social network while interacting with different individuals without any limit. For instance, most of the children who relish childhood have a more developed mind than the ones who find themselves surrounded by responsibilities. Thus, the aforementioned substantiates the reason for making them free from any work. To conclude, this essay discussed that children should perform equal household duties regardless of age while others believe that adolescents should be given unstructured playtime to develop their minds. From my viewpoint, the latter view should be supported as it will aid in instilling cognitive and intellectual skills.