Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

It is a reality that today the majority of products are unhealthy, having a massive number of harmful ingredients, such as sugar. Based on the fact that sugary foods and drinks can provoke several diseases, some people hold that their prices should be increased to discourage people’ consumption. I firmly agree with this stance. To commence with, it can be argued that individuals are free to decide what they want to consume, and any type of bans should not be applied to particular products. However, one of the most crucial duties of the states is to look after their citizens. It has been proved by many scientists that excessive use of sugar might lead to dangerous diseases, such as diabetes, obesity, or heart problems. Therefore, having all this evidence, steps should be taken by national authorities to foster the no consumption of these products by making them more expensive. In the same vein, sugary foods and drinks can have detrimental effects on an economic sphere too. Indeed, the rapid growth of certain illnesses has led to collapsing hospitals and medical centres. Take for example Chile, in this,country the vast majority of medical consultations are related to treating diabetes, and roughly 30% of the population suffer from another type of chronic disease. In the coming years, these figures will climb even more, and governments will have to tackle these problems by investing more in the healthcare system and less in other areas, for instance, education and pensions. It would be totally unfair that because of the actions of some individuals who do not care about their health, children and pensioners have to experiment a cut in their parts of the national budget. To sum up, I am convinced that positive aspects of sugary products are outweighed by negative impacts. Consequently, governments should implement public policies, and an excellent measure is to increase the costs of products made of sugar.