Some people think that new houses should be built in the same style as older houses. Others believe that the local council should allow people to choose different designs for their houses. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

A highly controversial issue today relates to whether to have distinct designs in new houses or not. In this essay, I am going to examine this question from both points of view and then give my own opinion on the matter. There are people who argue that the benefits of having a pattern in houses’ style considerably outweigh its disadvantages. The main reason for believing this is that some people usually do not like to have changes in their life and tend to continue what they consider traditional. It is also possible to say that many cities are well-known for their architecture. One good illustration of this is in Boston with its famous old residences and orange blocks. On the other hand, others believe that people should be able to choose what style they want for their residence. People often have this opinion because everyone has a different point of view and this occurs with the design too. A second point is that this could bring more diversity for the city what could become a positive characteristic for the region. A particularly good example here is in São Paulo where you could see traditional and mordenal archicteture together in the same avenue. In conclusion, I believe both arguments have their merits. On balance, however, I feel that everyone should be able to decide what they want for their house. Although city authorities are looking at keep a pattern to the city, people when constructing are putting a lot of effort and money in this big dream and should be recompensate with what they like.