Some people think that there could be more benefits to society if more people study business than history. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people are in favour of achieving business and financial management skills rather than taking a major in history. In recent years, there has been a hot debate between these two perspectives. I personally believe that both subjects have their own value to an individual's future, as well as play a vital role in the growth of today's world. Firstly, this viewpoint highlights the abilities of business intelligence to enhance management skills, which results in more success in the business world. For instance, the globally famous companies such as Apple, Facebook, and Twitter have highly skilled workers who are assets to these companies. The same goes for the new developing businesses, if they have newcomers with a major in such subjects could contribute to establishing a powerful foundation within a few years, which in turn will pay high taxes to the government. So, this side of the viewpoint has a solid basis. On the other hand, many criticise historians for believing that they did not serve anything to humankind. However, historians have played a significant role over time. For example, in times of war, they have supported the military by providing databases and statistics on the possibilities. Moreover, with the backing of their database, they have been predicting the collapse in finances, which proves the importance of history subjects in education. In conclusion, with all the arguments and examples given, I would say that it is not fair to choose one side of the education. It has ample evidence to prove that the subject has been contributing to the community so far.