Some people think that it's always better to live in the rented accomodation. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of it.

Some believe that living in the rented accommodation is always better. Without a doubt, this idea has its pros and cons which will be discussed further. On the one hand, life in a rented flat or house may cause some psychological discomfort as a person understands that it is not his or her property. Also, living in such accommodation implies some degree of unpredictability. Moreover, it makes an individual dependent on other people owning the accommodation. For example, if the relationship between a landlord and a person renting a flat becomes worse it is highly likely that the landlord may ask to leave the flat. Such cases tend to occur more often during financial crises. On the other hand, if a person rents a house or flat there is no need in spending money on the renovation as the owner of the property is responsible for it. In addition, the rented accommodation can be changed at any time to a more comfortable or more suitable one. Moreover, people living in rented houses are not bothered by the taxes for the property. In some countries, it is more beneficial to rent a flat than buying it due to the interest rates and inflation. For instance, in the UK, some social surveys revealed that more than 70% of citizens do not have their own flat or house as local prices are extremely high. In conclusion, life in the rented accommodation may make some people more dependent on others and add uncertainty or psychological discomfort. At the same time, a person may save a decent amount of money as a result of decreased number of liabilities.