In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

It is expected that in the coming years, different automobiles will be driven by themselves, that is, they will be driverless. I point out that this situation might have more negative results than positive ones. It is quite common to see how various brands strategically map out their future products to impress their audiences. One of the most symbolic advances in this way is related to the invention of driverless vehicles. It can be argued that this technological innovation is fruitful as it helps to make lives easier and safer. Take for example an individual who is exhausted, if this person drives, there will be more chances to provoke an accident as he might fall asleep. The aforementioned situation would be different if this person owns a driverless car as he will sleep and, at the same time, the automobile will be properly working. Nevertheless, there are two main drawbacks. Firstly, today a large part of jobs is linked to driving, such as bus, taxi, and subway drivers who earn a living through it. It can be noted that every day the unemployment rates of many countries in relation to this sector are getting higher. The Chilean case illustrates this point as in 2017 a metro line was inaugurated, Chileans were expecting to apply for these new positions, however, it was a massive surprise when the government announced that subway trains were going to be driverless. Secondly, this development might have huge risks. People do not know if the car’ system will detect each movement, even those produced by cars being driven by humans. It is certainly true that the human brain is dynamic, and might change quickly, affecting those driverless vehicles and, therefore, injuring passengers. To sum up, I am convinced that the benefits of driverless vehicles are outweighed by the disadvantages. Steps should be taken by national and international authorities to discourage the use of these automobiles.