Some people believe that smartphones are destroying social interaction today. To what extent you agree or disagree ?

While some persons are the opinion that the use of mobile devices are jeopardizing inter- personnal relationship in recent times, I do not agree with this statement as the use of these gadgets have been proven to connect individuals with same notion. On the one hand, some people would argue that the use of telephones disconnects individuals from their real world. We are in a period whereby most persons have become screen-obsessed and can spend series of hours going through their phone without necessarily having any discussion with those around them and this has been said to have reduce the proportion of face-to-face interaction recently. For example, the result of a survey carried out by an undergraduate at the college university,Lagos, indicated that following the onset of smartphones, there has been a significant reduction in social interaction. Because these devices detach their users from their immediate surroundings, some persons are of the believe that the state of face-to-face discussion is been jeopardized. However, I do not agree to their claims. On the other hand, cell phones serve as a medium where people of similar interest interact. Series of websites (facebook, twitter, LinkedIn etc.) available on these devices make it possible for different persons to connect with other like-minded people from different walks of life irrespective of their location. For instance, LinkedIn is a popular social media platform where scholars connect with each others across the globe to discuss trending issues. Due to the fact that smartphones enable us to associate with other persons outside our immediate environment, I do not agree with the fact that it is destroying social interaction. In conclusion, despite the fact that some people would argue that cellular devices threatens our inter- personnal relationship by dissociating their users from their current environment, others are of the view point and I concur that these devices has helped broaden our social life.