Although more and more people read the news on the Internet, newspaper will remain the most important source of news for the majority of people. Do you agree or disagree?

Many traditionalists believe that though online news is more prevalent, newspapers will continue as the major sources of news. I totally disagree with this idea. There are tangible benefits of news on the Internet. Firstly, you can update the latest news or trends. In the past, if new events took place, readers must wait until the next newspapers were released. As long as you have a smartphone, you could access the up to the minute information about many issues in the world. Secondly, online versions save time and effort in getting the news. Thanks to the advance of technology, everyone can easily have a portable device connecting instantly to the Internet. Farmers in remote places also know the news about other places, especially up to the minute weather forecasts to protect their harvests. Conventional newspapers have some drawbacks. The price that readers need to pay for newspapers is costly. Many newspaper publishers face falling circulation figures, so they release online versions along with traditional papers. Annually, there are numerous trees cut down and transport to paper mills. Citizens in the world are raising awareness about protecting the environment, and there is a body of public opinion boycotting newspapers to lessen the number of printed papers consumed. Humans suffer from many disasters due to climate change, so the arguments for using online versions will gain ground in the next years. In conclusion, I would argue that because freely available online news brings a lot of benefits, papers can not continue to be the most important sources of information.