Some people prefer to have temporary jobs, which means they only work a few months in a year and use the rest of the time to do what they want. What is your opinion?

It is true that an increasing number of people tend to choose short-term positions instead of permanent jobs in recent years. This is because they prefer to have more spare time to conduct personal plans. From my point of view, this trend brings both advantages and disadvantages to individuals. In this essay, I will explain my opinion with examples. On the one hand, life’s flexibility is the most significant positive effect of being a casual worker as having a better life and work balance is a prevailing topic in contemporary society. Once individuals escape from the daily routine work schedule, they will have a relatively large amount of free time on managing own life. For example, a mother can have a bunch of time to spend on parenting her child during school holidays, which the family tie is definitely stronger than other mothers who have to work regularly in summer. On the other hand, instability and insecurity of life bring drawbacks to individuals while working as causal employers. As the employment rate is relatively low nowadays, there is no guarantee that people can find other jobs after a long break. As a result, they may have the possibility of unemployment for a period of time. In that case, it will bring difficulties and pressure on the jobless if they have bills and loans to pay. For instance, as breadwinners, parents normally shoulder a lot of financial responsibility and they have to receive a stable income for balancing payments on their family. In conclusion, even though there is a merit of working as a casual employee, the negative sides of the trend cannot be ignored as well.