Countries should produce the food that their population eats, and import as little as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

One of the immense duties of every government is to supply its people with the required amount of food. Some people believe the majority share of eating should be manufactured internally and only a limited amount can be imported. In this essay, I will present my viewpoint in support of this idea. On the one hand, producing as many products as possible is good for the country’s economy. The food production process initiates many other businesses to thrive. Meat production, for example, involves various sectors, such as cropping, transportation, processing, marketing, etc. Moreover, those sectors also generate great employment opportunities for local people, which in turn enhances the wealth of people in the short run and weakens the migration process from rural areas to cities in the long run. On the other hand, minimizing imports of foods also impedes the flow of finance abroad and promotes establishing new manufacturing sectors. Buying butter from New Zealand for instance ends up transferring millions of US dollars to sellers from Azerbaijan only. However, these allocations could be spent on purchasing required machinery to found a similar production chain in the country. Finally, the majority of imported foods are much more expensive than their local alternatives. This is simply because the price of brought products includes many other expenses, such as transportation fees, customs clarification, and storage costs. Consequently, opting for internally manufactured products will lower the amount of money expenditure within the household budget. In conclusion, I tend to believe that countries should keep the amount of food import minimum, mostly because of economic reasons. The decline in import of eating from overseas will assist the economy of a country in many ways from prospering local business to decreasing expenditures of families.