Some people think that schools should give prizes for academic successes. Others argue that it is more important for schools to give prizes for other achievements (for sports, music, behaviours). Discuss both side and give your own opinion.

Opinions differ regarding whether schools should reward only students who achieve academic achievements while some is arguing that it is more important to reward students who achieve success in music, good behaviour and sports. In this, essay I will discuss both sides and give the reason why I personally feel that students should receive prizes in both categories. In today's,society it is important to motivate learners from a young age to study hard so that they can further their studies at a good university or college. Which would lead to better job opportunities. Therefore, acknowledging young learners academic achievements by rewarding them with prizes for their hard work will motivate their fellow classmates to also work hard and strive for success. In a recent study from Cambridge university regarding young learners and what motivate them to accomplish good grades, it was concluded that good competition among their classmates can be beneficial in achieving academic success. On the other hand, not all students are academically gifted. Some students have other talents in areas such as music, sports, or just being a model student at school and they should also be noticed for their achievements. I agree with this statement, that it is important to also recognise their capabilities and success. Acknowledging their skill sets will motivate them to work harder and boost their self-confidence. For example, Roger Federer, a famous tennis player did very bad academically at school, but he shined on the tennis court and now he is a famous tennis player. Therefore, it is important to not only focus on students who get good grades. In conclusion, although it is important for students to work hard and aim for good grades at school, it is also important to recognise that everyone has different talents. And their talents should not go unseen.