In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

The number of people residing in sub-urban areas is declining in most countries as a result of migration to urban areas. Such a phenomenon might happen for a number of reasons and can cause both advantages and disadvantages, especially to country’s development. This essay will discuss reasons why this case can be both positive and negative developments to some extent. First, there are several ways to see this case as a positive development, one of them is by looking from the rural people ’s point of view. These people may see urbanization as a chance to increase their welfare level, the level they cannot gain in the countryside. Cities can provide them with more job options with higher payment. Even the same jobs, such as healthcare workers, in the countryside are often being paid less than those in urban areas. However, if we see it from the perspective of how they left rural areas massively and permanently, it is just a matter of time before we see the negative development out of it. There will not be a single issue out of this phenomenon if these people are only left temporarily to gain what they need, but residing permanently will make the cities over-populated. Overpopulation in a single area can cause issues, such as a lack of housing areas, a high rate of unemployment, etc. In summary, migration of rural people can be a positive development to some extent but will cause some issues if it’s out of control. However, we cannot prevent people to want a better life. Therefore, urbanization should be managed and limited by regulations. Instead of letting the migration happen, the government should focus more on making them independent in their living areas, without having to migrate.