Some people believe that the best way to increase the road safety is to increase the minimum legal age for driving cars. To what extent do you agree?

Some individuals believe that road safety will be optimized to a certain extent by raising the minimum driving age. Although I accept that this approach can make significant prevention for traffic accidents, I strongly assume that there are much better solutions and measures to enhance road safety. On the one hand, increasing the legal age for driving is beneficial due to several reasons. To begin with, one of the common factors that lead to an accident is a lack of discipline. Since young people from most countries have the right to drive after the age of 28, they might not be aware of the consequences of what they do. Being teenagers, their thrill-seeking behaviour, mood swings and impulses have the potential to adversely affect not only their driving skills but also their decision-making skills. Consequently, they are more likely to disobey the rules and tend to drive beyond limited speed. Due to these reasons, teens can create more chances of resulting in serious accidents than those who are in their 20s. Secondly, older drivers are more capable of reacting quickly and handling emergencies effectively than young ones due to a great pool of experience. Teenagers might make decisions, being panic-stricken, in dangerous situations such as traffic hazards. Nevertheless, I believe that there are better measures to enhance road safety. Improving the quality of public transportations can solve this puzzle to a considerable extent. Authorities not only should expand bus routes, especially in populated areas, but also should invest more money in the construction of new suburbs so that people tend to use public transports rather than private vehicles. In this way, the level of mobile accidents can be reduced substantially. To conclude, even though raising the driving age can have solid advantages, I personally think that it cannot outweigh other essential factors such as improving the quality of public transport.