Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement.

Nowadays, people are moving to foreign countries for various purposes like leisure, business and study. Migrants may face some social and practical problems if they are not aware of the foreign language of the country they have moved to. I completely agree with this phenomenon as pupils may find it challenging to survive there without speaking in a local language. This essay will discuss these challenges and support them with relevant examples. Firstly, immigrants, who do not learn a foreign language, can face some social problems in their daily life. Most importantly, they may find it difficult to make new friends as they would not be able to speak in a local language; as a result, they may feel demotivated and lonely. For example, if a group of friends are going out for a party and one of a friend does not know the common language spoken in the group, then that person may not understand the conversation to contribute anything more. Moreover, such people may not gel-up at their workplace with their colleagues also, as a result of which they may feel unhappy at work. Secondly, there can be some practical challenges after moving to another country in a day to day life. For instance, travelling in Japan was problematic for me since I cannot read Japanese and all the signboards were written in Japanese. So, I had to use a dictionary to translate it into English. In other words, a person becomes dependent on other sources to communicate and understand the language compared to a native speaker. Furthermore, a person may find it difficult to get basic needs such as food, water, without been able to communicate in a local language. Thus, learning the local language is important. In conclusion, some immigrants may find difficulty in settling into a foreign country if they do not learn the local language. They may face social and practical issues in their daily routine. I think that people should be aware of the issues they may come across in a different country beforehand so that they can prepare themselves for all the challenges.