Some people think government is wasting money on arts and that this money could be spent elsewhere. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

While some persons are of the opinion, and I completely disagree, that the state is wasting funds on art and that such capital should be expended on other sectors. I am of suggestion that it is beneficial to all. This essay will explain further. On the one hand, they are of the belief that it is a waste of resources to cater for the arts. However, I do not concur with this statement. According to them, rather than allocate a huge amount of capital for the construction of state-of-the-art galleries, which would not benefit the populace, they are of the opinion that these funds should be channelled towards the improvement of the health and education sector which would be appreciated by all. For example, despite the number of funds allocated to arts by the Ghanian authority, its impact is not felt by the people, a report said. Due to the fact that the construction of art galleries will not favour the public, they are of the belief that it is a waste of capital investing in it. On the other hand, I am of the belief that funding this sector by the government would enable their citizenry to learn about their history. This is so because they display their historical artefacts that help to enlighten the public about the struggles of their ancestors. For instance, the national museum in Lagos has been proven to help educate millions of Nigerians about their past, over the years. Due to the fact that these structures help teach people about the past, I am of the suggestion that its funding is not a waste of resources. In conclusion, although some would argue that the money spent on arts is a waste, I do not agree with them because it is a medium that helps enlighten the younger generation about their history.