More and more people are becoming seriously overweight. Some people say that increasing the price of fattening foods will solve this problem. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Obesity has become a major health issue all over the world due to bad food habits. Some people believe that this problem can be solved by increasing the price of oily food. I would endorse this idea to a great extent and will analyze it further. To begin with, compared to older generations, the present generation used to include unhealthy food options in their daily meal intakes as it is a more convenient and cheaper option than making a healthy meal at home. In order to discourage this behaviour, the government should introduce a new tax for fast foods so that the price of fattening foods will be increased gradually. For instance, the average price of a burger is around 3$, however; with this new tax the price will be much higher so that people would consider preparing a meal at home rather than pay a higher amount for junk foods. This tariff would definitely help to ameliorate the overweight issue. Furthermore, increasing the food price through the new tax scheme would give additional benefits. Since most people work during the day, it is irrefutable that they do not have enough time to prepare a meal so that they used to buy junk foods as their lunch and dinner. While they spend more money on these foods, the government can earn more tax money from it which ultimately can be used to improve the health care system and educational services. Because of this reason, increasing prices via tax would help to improve these services. To summarize, increasing the price of oily and other unhealthy food would help to alleviate the health problems such as obesity, heart diseases and diabetes. As discussed, I strongly recommend this idea to a great extent because this helps to solve the overweight problem as well as this gives additional benefits to the government to improve their services.