Some parents believe that learning mathematics at school is redundant and should not be taught while others believe it should remain a foundational subject whether or not it is used later in life. Discuss both sides.

Subjects taught in school remains a topic of debate among parents. While some believe that learning mathematics is irrelevant and should not be taught in schools, others believe this is a very important subject that needs to be in the curriculum. This essay will critically analyze both views. In recent times, more parents are subscribing to the idea that mathematics is no longer useful hence, it should be exempt from subjects taught in school. With most of the high paying jobs being mostly in the creative industry like photography, music etc. they are of the opinion that their children do not need maths. Moreover, the use of computers for everyday tasks is becoming increasingly popular and easy. For example, devices are now used for basic additions, subtractions and even complex calculations. Consequently, these parents have reason to believe their wards no longer need calculus, and it is therefore irrelevant in schools. Nevertheless, some parents still believe strongly that math has a role to play in the lives of their children, hence they should be taught in the classroom. While we cannot ignore the importance of gadgets and how they make our lives easier. However, we cannot get rid of basic knowledge. For example, every computer/smartphone has a period in which it is at its peak, but when it starts ageing, its efficacy begins to diminish. As a result of this, it can give wrong answers to basic calculations. But how would these children know this is wrong if they do not have any prior knowledge? This is why they believe studying calculation is important and would always be. In conclusion, whether mathematics should remain in the syllabus would probably be debated for years. While a number of parents believe it should be completely eradicated, others believe it is an essential skill to possess.