Nowadays the way many people interact with each other has changed because of technology. In what ways has technology affected the types of relationships that people have? Has this been a positive or negative development?

Establish rapport with new individuals always required face to face interaction. However, this changed with the advance of our communication systems. This essay will discuss how it is different from the past and whether this technological development has more advantages or disadvantages for personal relationships. First of all, the Internet has brought together friends and family that people lost contact. This is because social media platforms have algorithms that help to find individuals you may know. For example, on Facebook the more friends you add to your profile the system shows others you might share friendships with. On the other hand, as technology made it easier to communicate, face-to-face interaction seems pointless. In other words, visiting each other or talking in the same room seldom happens because with a few touches on your cellphone you can reach anybody. Furthermore, teenagers are even stoping using phone calls, as text messages are the new way of keeping relationships. As far as I am concerned, despite the fact that technology might be responsible for people been apart, I believe it has more upsides than downsides. For instance, in the current situation we are facing with this rampant virus, it would be almost impossible to keep in touch with ill individuals. Therefore, without this technology society would not have any relationships but their family inside their houses. In conclusion, our interaction with one another changed drastically because of technology. Although it has some negative sides, overall is a positive development as we might have lost contact with several acquaintances these last couple years without it.