Some people feel that the effects of advertising are positive for individuals and businesses, while others think they are negative. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

Some people believe that commercials have negative effects on persons and businesses while others, including me, think that they are beneficial. Both views will be discussed in this essay. Firstly, advertisements enable people to get information about a product. Advertisements don’t play a role in getting information. They give information. On the one hand, advertisements help create awareness about the new products on the market. For example, if there were no advertisements, few people would learn about dishwashers, eBook readers or virtual assistants. Commercials introduce these products to consumers and help them make an informed buying decision by comparing prices and features. Without adverts, people cannot find whether there is a product or service that addresses their needs. In this way, commercials boost people ’s productivity and make their lives more comfortable. Adverts are beneficial for companies too. Commercials boost sales and help businesses earn more reviews. On the other hand, adverts do have certain downsides. They are bad because they promote thoughtless purchases. Oftentimes, after watching ads, we end up buying products we do not even need. Also, sometimes companies make fake claims. For example, fairness creams do not really make someone lighter. Likewise, health drinks not make children taller, stronger or sharper. Yet, they make these claims and fool people. However, if consumers take caution and buy only what they want, they can protect themselves from the harmful effects of commercials. In short, adverts have both positive and negative aspects. However, as long as people exercise common sense and buy only what they need, they will only benefit from commercials.