In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decided to do this.

In some nations across the globe, young adults are encouraged to either work or travel for a twelve-month period, usually between the end of their secondary education and the beginning of their tertiary studies. These have pros and cons, and this essay will explain further. To begin with, an advantage of this trend is that, it helps them develop social skills. This is so because it exposes them to different people from various walks of life. According to the daily times' magazine, for example, youngsters who had either worked or travelled have good social skills relative to their counterparts who haven't. Furthermore, encouraging them to work prior to the commencement of their university studies prepares them for the adult phase of life. That is to say, it teaches them how to be independent grown-ups, who can tackle their issues properly. In Nigeria for instance, a significant proportion of teenagers who take up a job before higher education do better as older adults, a report said. Due to the benefits derived from this, some nations are of the notion that young adults should either work or travel before the start of their university education. Subsequently, one out of the many drawbacks of this trend is that it discourages these minors from continuing their education. Due to the fact that they receive wages from carrying out menial jobs, they would be discouraged from going back to school and would prefer to remain in that firm that pays them very low. To illustrate, younger persons who receive salaries with a lower qualification are of the opinion that it is better to start little and climb the ladder later on. Because this would discourage them from attaining a high academic cadre, it is a disadvantage worthy of note. In conclusion, while working or travelling just after graduating from high school and the beginning of tertiary studies is an advantage, which has been proven to help one develop a good interpersonal relationship with others as well as prepare them for adult life, its demerit is that this can distract these population from aiming higher in their academic field.