Most people these days prefer getting news online to reading newspapers or watching TV. Do you think it is a positive development?

As it can be clearly seen, the advancement in technology has changed our lifestyles considerably. Consequently, the way that people follow the news has been altered through online methods and as a result, individuals have given up reading newspapers and watching television. In my opinion, this is not a good trend for upcoming generations which I will further explain in the essay below. Primarily, newspapers are authentic sources of information. Writers are likely to be more responsible as they can be sued for defamation cases if they mishandle the content. The language used in writing the report helps a lot of individuals in improving their communication. The Paper has a lot of other columns which includes puzzles, crosswords, historical facts etc. which helps in building knowledge and problem-solving abilities. Kids especially have their own space where a lot of games, facts on different subjects, stories are shared which are useful for their understanding and growth. Furthermore, TV channels are bound to restrictions and cannot broadcast without proper authentication and authorization. We can also watch discussions happening in parliament, which are very useful in gaining knowledge about the stands of political parties on various issues. On the other hand, the news on the internet is instant. The writers have freedom and there is no one to validate the language and the content they are showcasing. The report is not elaborate enough to cover all the details and reach out to citizens at a lightning speed providing misguided information about the incident. To summarize, though online news is gaining popularity due to its crisp content, they are no match to the authentic information provided by the newspapers and television channels.