In most countries, the crime rate is often higher in urban areas than in rural areas. Why do you think that is? What can be done to reduce the crime rate?

Statistically, in many states, the amount of crime cases tends to be far less in villages than in cities. This essay will shed light on the reasons standing behind this trend and the measures required to decrease the number of offensive cases. A major factor that begets more crimes in urban areas is harsh living conditions in cities. Due to the financial shortage, people are facing endless struggles to ensure a better life for themselves and their beloved ones. Those who fail in making enough funds through normal courses, most probably are engaged in illegal activities. Some may do simple crimes, when no special knowledge or techniques are required, say, robbery and burglary. However, some people utilize their intelligence and even more, may take advantage of their access to certain sort of information and harness this knowledge for criminal purposes. Had a friend working in the bank as an operator who charged 5 years of prison for illicitly accessing the client dataset to extract information about customers’ accounts and selling to the third party. Thus, the need for money for a better life may persuade people to commit crimes. The government can introduce two distinguish remedies to the problem of crime in cities. On the one hand, enforcement units may widely utilize artificial intelligence tools to determine socio-demographic, as well as physical characteristics of potential wrongdoers. By analyzing big data, possible offenders may be revealed with a low margin of error and police may prevent many crimes in advance. Since, the financial shortage was identified as the primary cause of crimes in cities, on the other hand, the implementation of the government program on providing cash and non-cash support to disadvantaged families would be a vital solution. The program may finance the gap between the cost of normal life and the total income of a family. Therefore, people would not have any excuse to be engaged in wrongdoings to make ends meet. In conclusion, the financial problems would be the major stimulus for many offences in cities. However, with the help of new technological advancements and implementation of the government-supported implications to provide aid to households may decline the crime rate in cities.