Students should choose a university major that prepares them for high-paying careers. To what extent do you agree with this statement.

Many believe that one's success is measured by one's wealth and therefore it is important that students should study a major at university that can guarantee a high salary. However,I disagree with this statement, and I believe that it is important that students study something that interests them. Choosing a university major is one of the most difficult decisions in one's adult life. Therefore it is essential to choose a major that one love and are passionate about. A surgeon for example who enjoys their job might do extra research during their free time and would try to be the best in their field. The same goes for someone who works at an art gallery. Someone who enjoys being surrounded by art the whole day might see their job as a hobby than just a 9 to 5 career. They will show much more interest in their work. It is important to love what you do as a career because you spend most of your day at your job Another important factor is to be happy in one's career. If you don't love what you are doing at work then it will lead to unhappiness, depression, it might affect your health and general well-being. Harvard did a study where they interviewed 100 senior citizens about what they regret the most in their younger years and the majority stated that their biggest regret was not choosing a career path that they enjoyed. If you do something you enjoy you never work a day in your life. In conclusion, although it is important that we are all financially secured during our lifetime it remains important to keep in mind that life is short and it's better to spend our days doing something you love than doing something you hate.