Many countries face the problem of low voter turnout in their democratic elections. What are the problems associated with it and suggest solutions?

Several democratic communities are concerned about declining voter participation. The primary factor appears to be the lack of trust and legitimacy in the electoral process. Therefore, governments should ensure to conduct fair elections and improve the policies around the ballot structure. It is conspicuous that modern educated societies lost faith in the democratic elections due to the widespread disbelief in the electoral machinery. For Instance, in India people have negative perceptions about public representatives. This holds true with a major section of politicians who manipulates the way the whole system is organized and turn the tide in their way. Also, higher illiteracy rates among the masses, who cannot judge or differentiate options, massively influence the outcome of the whole campaign. This increases the sense of reluctance among the academicians and students. However, lower citizen participation does not reflect their activism in politics. On the contrary, we have seen a rise in mass protests, debates, and opinions on political parties on different social media platforms. Academic researchers propose a myriad of suggestions to uplift the electoral arrangement in democratic societies. Firstly, the maintenance of an electoral database that classifies the population data based on age group, economic status, education level, and geographical location. This gives a deep analysis of the pattern and the mindset of participants. Both government and autonomous election commissions can gain insights from these data marts. This enables, them to formulate and shift political policy in the public interest. Secondly, adopting the technology for casting vote and counting systems, such as electronic voting machines yields a positive outlook of the system. In conclusion, declining voter turnout signals the deep problems democracies are facing today. Therefore, this is the right time for the governments to make policy shifts to meet the demands of active citizens, using technologies and social media platforms effectively.