Many countries aim to improve their living standard by economic development, but some important social values are lost as a result. Do you think the advantages of economic development outweigh the disadvantages.

The social development and lifestyle of people are directly associated with the economic growth of nations that is why it is the prime focus of the majority of governments. This materialistic approach has devastating impacts on cultural and traditional norms. I believe that the benefits of economic prosperity are far more than its side effects on social values. To begin with, there are a few negative effects of economic progress on social norms. Social bonds become weaker with financial well-being, as people can buy anything which they want and their mutual dependence minimizes. Moreover, in a society influenced by consumerism, individuals think about profit and loss and they don't care about social and cultural values. For instance, a commercial corporation that wants to earn money even jeopardizing local tradition, it would have catastrophic consequences. On the contrary, there are enormous positives of fiscal growth. First and foremost, the lifestyle of people would significantly improve because they have enough funds to spend better life and buy luxuries for them. Secondly, it would raise the standard of health in a society, for,example if a country is economically prosperous it would have surplus money for healthcare services which ultimately decline the mortality rate in the nation. Last but not the least, the financial well-being of people gives them a sense of security which is incredibly important for their mental health and prevent them from psychiatric illness like depression, anxiety and psychosis. In conclusion, in my opinion even though economic development may cause turmoil in social values, it enhances the people's standard of living such as better housing, and medical facilities.