While some countries encourage short school days, others encourage long school days. Do you think that having short school days has more advantages or more disadvantages?

Throughout the globe, there are some countries that promote the idea of having short days at school, whereas other countries encourage spending longer school day. While there are benefits of extended school day, I believe spending shorter school day is more advantageous. To begin with, the first obvious benefit of short day school is that it is worthwhile for most students in various fields. This is because since students spend shorter time at classes. As a result, they find more time for other activities such as sports and hobbies. Moreover, as these schools invest in developing its students skills in activity such as sport games, this will lead to an outstanding outcome for students. For example, many schools in the United States had produced professional basketball players, who are now competing in the NBA championship. In brief, not only students gain educational benefit, but also gain personal benefits as well. By contrast, long day schools only emphasize on classes and studying. Hence, if these schools students spend their time merely studying, they have tenuous chances for any other activities. Unfortunately, the short school day is not always a positive one. This owing to the fact that students spend limited time in classes, and some of them might have difficulty in some subjects. With that in mind, these students might not have additional time with their teachers for further support. Consequently, these students might get low grades in the subjects that they do not well comprehend. Conversely, at boarding schools, if there are students suffering in some subjects, they can have private sessions with their teachers to address their weakness specifically. Thus, these students will obtain higher grades in all subjects eventually. In conclusion, although there are clear benefits for spending longer school day such as providing higher educational quality, it is my firm belief that spending shorter school day has more significant advantages as it helps students to enhance their talent as well at a variety of fields.