In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Food choices are been changing dramatically these days. Majority of people in few countries are consuming more of the junk food which is consequently leading to health issues. Hence, the government should be imposing heavy taxes on unhealthy food items. I completely agree with this idea and will be elaborating my view on this further in this essay in an exemplary manner. To begin with, many companies selling fast- food are quite cheap which are easy to purchase and have healthy options expensive on their menu which compell compels compelled people to buy the more affordable ones. For instance, many people just buy a hamburger from Mc Donalds at a cheaper price as compared to vegetable salad and a glass of fresh orange juice. Moreover, majority of people in western countries just a grab a hamburger or other fried stuff from their favourite fast food restaurant while on the way to their workplace. In other words, junk food seems to them a more convenient and affordable option. In addition to this, there are myriad nations where fresh food is much more costlier than the frozen foods. The organic food section in supermarkets is separate and pricey as compared to, the frozen junk food, for example, fries, nuggets, burgers, etc., are kept in attractive discount offers. This strategy of hypermarkets is one of the leading reason attributed to people's ill health. The government must enforce strict laws against selling harmful edible products such as fizzy drinks, branded fast foods. To conclude, every individual has their own eating habits and are free to choose between different food options available. However, some people lack knowledge about the food they eat so it is the duty of the government to exercise the awareness campaigns and do their best as much as possible to take care of the health of their nationals.