Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now ‘one big traffic jam’ How true do you think the statement is? What measures can governments take to discharge people from using their cars?

Traffic congestion has become a serious problem since people have been purchasing more cars across the globe for the last three decades. I strongly agree with the statement given above. This essay will discuss the problem and viable solutions to discourage people to use their private vehicles. To begin with, it is a known fact that increasing traffic may result in higher travel time and increase the carbon footprint. For instance, if a person enters a commercial city, it consumes almost double or more time during peak hours rather than to travel off-peak period in many countries. In a competitive world like this, time is more vital and instead of wasting valuable time on the road, people can invest it in something useful such as career development, enhancing relationships and improving a language skill. Furthermore, individuals who drive their own vehicles may indirectly contribute to global warming and environmental pollution due to the high carbon emission ratio. Moreover, investing in public transport and introducing high taxes are potential solutions in order to overcome traffic. Government should encourage the public to use general transport methods by investing in railway systems and infrastructure. Public transport accommodates a large volume of passengers at once. Consequently, it may help to reduce travel time and environmental pollution. A recent study done by the University of Belfast UK showed that after introducing the underground system in New Castle 69% of the public started using the service of these trains. In conclusion, Time wasting and environmental contamination are the problem caused due to traffic and improving public transport and introducing awareness programs are the best solution in order to reduce traffic in roads.