Nowadays, many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed

Recently, instead of being employed by a company or organisation, some people have self-employed for some certainly feasible reasons although that style of working may bring some potential drawbacks. Many people have held a firm belief that self-employing could release them from work pressure. First, they do not need to follow any rules or principles from any manager or company which would make the workplace become hard-and-fast, thus they can self-regulate their working routine or working hours. For example, they are able to start their task after a well-served breakfast right in a cafeteria, instead of slithering into the crowd in peak hours to get to work. Second, not being under supervising from anybody in a collaborative workplace, they do not meet any challenge in competing for their career ladder. They have a chance to self-assess their ability, compliments or punishments do not depend on any permission from anyone else. However, this kind of working style may reveal some disadvantages as followed. Firstly, it could mitigate the workers' social welfares. Take working insurance for example, especially including fees for health care service and accidents at work, which should have been apparently paid by the company that they serve. Secondly, on the grounds that self-employed commuters avoid working in the collaborative environment as in an enterprise, they hardly find assistance from colleagues when it comes to hurdles. As the result, it takes time for them to address the existing problems, detaining their working productivity. To sum up, being self-employed has become a trend nowadays, which could be appropriate for some workers because of its flexibility of time or development opportunity. In contrast, it also acts as a barrier when obtaining some social welfares and working assistance.