In some countries, more and more people are becoming interested in finding out about the history of the house or building they live in. What are the reasons for this? How can people research this?

History always holds enormous curiosity for people being keen to unveil its mystery in the present day. Most of them have no clue on where to embark. Rather than waiting for an apple to fall accidentally from the tree of inspiration, they found that their own house may be an anchor for their exploration journey of fact-finding. Some pragmatic reasons are driving the enthusiasm and interest towards this pursuit. The backstory of the antique residence fascinates many people because they think it would bridge the past and now with an affective bond. It is analogous to exhaustively studying family genealogy. Besides, researching one's ancestors or places of residence would also reveal much about the culture and society they lived. We can draw the Cape Cod houses scattered in New England as an example. These cottage-featured home buildings with a large central chimney, gabled roof, and few ornaments aim to withstand the storm and stark weather of Cape Cod; meanwhile, community support seems significant to the residents. Furthermore, when it comes to real estate, delving into the past of a house before purchase is what a savvy customer would follow. Suppose an owner possesses the facts of his listed property thoroughly, like construction date, building materials, decoration style, house structure, and the information of the former owner, which can help him know whether he can nor cannot altar parts of the building. At the very least, it could prevent him from causing irreparable damage to original features, which he would be keen to retain if he knew their worth. Alternatively, he wants to put it on sale; in that case, the property's stories can be capitalized as marketing pitching to enhance its price, especially any historical figures once involved. There is a load of sources available out there that can facilitate our research. We can carry it out by means of either online or offline. The Internet engine can channel us to a wild collection of classified information without spending an immense amount of time wading through thousands of papers in the library. Besides, a community survey can be employed as an offline alternative to make up those unlisted on the web by conducting an array of interviews with the local people who have first -hand experiences. To sum up, the knowledge of architectural history gives an understanding of the ideas essential to shape the past societies. A building can reveal much about the culture that produced it. Ignoring the past would trigger a failure to nurture our pride and cultural identity as an ethic and a nation.