In some counties, it is now possible for people to buy products made in other counties. To what extent do the benefits of this development outweigh the problems?

As the world is increasingly globalised, the exchange of commodities across the border is proceeding at an astounding rate. From my point of view, this development can help improve the living standards of consumers. The products from foreign countries are competitively priced and offer good value for money. The main reason is that the counties that export these goods normally have technology and know-how to reduce the cost of production to ensure that these products are highly affordable. For example, China specializes in the production of textile products so China-made clothes, bed linen and footwear are cheaper than local counterparts in many parts of the world. Another benefit is that imported goods have challenged domestic manufacturers’ dominance and intensified competition, thereby pushing these producers to cut prices.it is beneficial to domestic customers because they can spend less on some products essential to their lives such as food, and the cost of living will decline. This is particularly important for people who live on a tight budget and those who need to feed a big family. The downside of importing goods is that foreign brands may steal the market share from local companies and lead to the underdevelopment of some domestic industries. These brands have been in a global marketplace for many decades, and they have attracted local consumers with clear advantages in technology, packaging, functions and after-sales services. For instance, Dell, Apple, HP and other world-famous producers of computers and electronic products have conquered many markets and the arrival of these international brands has resulted in domestic manufacturers’ bankruptcy. This is harmful to the development of a self-contained economy. In conclusion, the overall effect of import products from other counties is positive. Consumers can buy something at a lower cost, although some local firms may be shut down.