In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasize that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

It is becoming increasingly common for advertising to highlight the novelty of their products. In my opinion, it is inspired by the psychology of consumer behaviour and brings about an array of adverse outcomes. First of all, business people obsess about framing their products as new and attempt to mislead the public and arouse their unrealistic expectations. For example, direct-to-consumer advertising for vitamin supplements has resulted in an overoptimistic prospect about the effectiveness of medicines and their side effects, according to the Food and Drug Administration’s study. Voice-overs hints that it is mere supplements rather than treatments, but the visual images show vigorous, happy people recovering from an ill-stricken condition. It is not unusual to hear that even complications may be a side-effect of an overdose of the vitamin. Disclaimers are often hidden in every small print on product packaging and out-of-the-way spots in ads. In addition, advertising induces excessive consumption that breeds a great deal of threat to the world environment. Capitalist firms usually create the demand for their products through various marketing techniques and planned obsolescence. Every year, those industry magnates prepare their new inventions on launch once or twice a year, such as Iphon and Tesla. Cutting-edge, high-tech, superlative, limited-edition, and exclusive, these seductive words in their copywritng lines enable consumers irresistible to their tactics. Such ads play an essential role in consumerist demand by inventing false “needs” and stimulating compulsive consumption habits, totally violating the conditions for maintaining planetary ecological equilibrium. Besides, the nature of humans usually favours the new and abandons the obsolete to pollute our innocent mother nature. In conclusion, no matter how adept the marketers manipulate customer behaviour with psychological tactics to enhance their profits, consequences will always catch them up later. Any well-established enterprise with a good sense of business ethic would never settle their goodwill for enticing customers into false “needs.”