Online shopping is now replacing shopping in stores. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

In this ever-changing society, physical shopping is gradually substituted by online purchasing. In my perspective, this is a positive phenomenon in contemporary society for following reasons. To begin with, e-shopping is generally considered to be more convenient for customers than in-store purchasing. This is because many people nowadays are unable to find adequate time to go shopping as they are too busy with professional or personal responsibilities. However, online shopping provides a way that more suitable for people’s lifestyle under current society. For example, virtual shopping websites such as, eBay and Amazon provide a wide range of products online, which cater to the needs of individuals from the comfort of their home. Moreover, such shopping sites have considerably reduced major inconveniences associated with shopping, like travelling to distant shops, parking vehicles in crowded cities and spending a considerable amount of time. Furthermore, online shopping allows people to select from a wide range of products, prices and features of products are often compared. This has enabled customers to choose the right products that suit their needs. For instance, Taobao is a mainstream e-shopping website for Chinese people, the website has not only provided detailed information of their products on sale but also customers ' opinions and reviews on products sold. In conclusion, online shopping offers greater benefits to customers when compared to in-store purchasing, as e-shopping provide a time effective way and offer much more choices for consumer to make comparison between same products. Therefore, I think this is definitely a positive trend and the popularity of online shopping is likely to continue.