In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family?

It is a reality that the population all over the world is getting old, the natality rates have been falling during the last decades, this raises the issue on where our elders should live and who should pay for their care. From my point of view, this is a delicate topic because it requires to look close each situation, in one hand, some old people could save along their lives and therefore, they can pay for private institutions and care, on the other hand, some people cannot afford this kind of accommodation, thus, they depend on the government help to live a decent life. The government, and the State, have the obligation to take responsibility of their population, no matter the gender, race, age or any other condition, it is supposed that any country should have funds to help the people in need, as the population gets old they need special care and the government should provide it with no discrimination, any old person should have access to facilities sponsored by the government, there, they should find decent attention and accommodation. This must be seen even as a form of gratitude for all the work and effort that they put along with their lives. However, as with any other service, private institutions can offer the same services for the people who can or want to afford them because they have better quality or simply because they do not want the government's help. This could help to save some public funds that can be invested in some other programs. If a family or a person is in the capacity to afford these private services, they should take them and let their room for someone who might need it more. To conclude, I believe that governments should pay and help their elders to obtain the care they deserve. Nonetheless, there should be private options for people who can afford them, this will facilitate the government efforts too.