More and more people are shifting to cities from countryside. Do this have advantages or disadvantages on environment?

Population in urban areas is becoming increasingly popular nowadays. This has many disadvantages to the environment. One is deforestation and the other one is destroying lakes and ponds. This essay will discuss the above two points in detail. Firstly, people occupying the cities lead to deforestation to accommodate the population. More trees have been cutting down every year and this affects the weather pattern. In addition, rare planet species extinction is becoming unavoidable. Moreover, land soil quality is getting affected enormously due to cutting more trees. For example, a recent survey conducted by the forest department in India stated that every year 30% of the forest area becomes occupied for infrastructure development. As a result, the environment is badly affected, and it leads to change in its regular weather pattern. Secondly, many rivers and ponds are being destroyed to facilitate urban improvements. This is to construct new houses and to build new roads facilities to satisfy the people’s needs. The destruction of the rivers and ponds in city sides create water scarcity all over the places. Also, there is no proper rainwater storage facility to serve better to the people living in urban areas. For example, the state Tamilnadu always depends on the other state Karnataka to open the dam to release water to support the farmers all over the state. Therefore, protecting the rivers and ponds are highly important for the environment. In conclusion, the disadvantages of people moving from countrysides to cities outweigh the advantages. Deforestation and occupying lakes and ponds areas are the key impacts on the environment. The government ought to take proper countermeasure actions to protect the surroundings.