Some schools have restricted the use of mobile phones. Is this a positive development or a negative one? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In modern times and a fast-changing world, it is common in many countries for children to have mobile phones. Although some schools and universities are in favour, others seem to restrict their use. In my opinion, that is a positive impact not only academically, but also physically and socially too. Restricting phone use in the classroom itself can improve learning. Without these devices, students and teachers will have far fewer distractions and can pay more attention to the curriculum. When students have their phones they tend to easily lose focus with the irresistible urge to be online and constantly checking for texts or social media updates. For example, it is observed that students usually use their handphone to update their status on social media websites and share real time information causing a distraction to study. Moreover, minimal use of phones will help them to improve their wellbeing both physically and socially. With less contact with phones they can spend more time in outdoor activities, which will make them fit and also get to spend more time with friends. When students learn any sport at an early age, they also learn how to be disciplined, organized and competitive, which is a universal characteristics for child's development. Furthermore, they will have added advantage to interact in person and make new friends. So, all in restriction of phones will help students in many areas and will develop them for future challenges. For instance, due to unavailability of phone during my childhood days, I use to engage more in extra curricular activities making me physically fit. In conclusion, I strongly agree that school should restrict all kind of cellular devices in order to help students to excel in education field. Also, it improves the quality of life, physically and socially.