Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is said that countries have the responsibility of taking care of native ecosystems, including animals and plants. Currently, many places are suffering from lack of water, deforestation, change of temperature and many other related problems. It is believed that the destruction of species is the biggest environmental issue. However, others think this issue is not the most important one. I strongly agree with the first idea and I will provide further information. On one hand, every ecosystem keeps a balance in which animals and vegetation coexist. With the introduction of humans in these environments, native inhabitants numbers have decreased. Water is used to satisfy many industrial processes, allowing dangererous liquids to contaminate rivers and lakes. Being contaminated by these substances, fishes and submarine plants died. The water continues its way until arriving at oceans, where every substance kills other marine species. On the other hand, the use of pesticides contaminates the ground, some processes of extraction of minerals such as gold and silver destroy the earth, gases expelled by industries and cars pollute the air. Every human activity is affecting life, but under any circumstances can this problem be compared to the scale of destroying entire species. To sum up, it is my belief that the loss of a 'simple' species of insect has an important impact because it breaks the cycle of life, this insect could be the meal of other organisms. Every living being has its own space and place on the planet and the disappearance of just one will affect an ecosystem.