Students perform better in school when they are rewarded rather than punished. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some people argue that praises and rewards are the best ways to enhance young learners' performance at the school, whereas others advocate that penalizing them for their mistakes works better. There are certain pros and cons of both strategies, I will shed light on them in the next few paragraphs and I believe that outcomes can be significantly improved by acknowlegdements acknowledgement. To begin with, there are a few advantages and disadvantages of punishments. Few individuals contend that penalties are effective on every pupil regardless of their intelligence and it is the most convenient way to discipline them. For instance, if students are punished for their wrong doings and under performances, in the next time they will tried their best to refrain mistakes due to the phobia of punishment. On the other hand, corporal or psychological penalties can affect the self-esteem of children that would not only reduce academic achievements but also could cause mental disorders like anxiety, depression and psychosis. On the contrary, rewarding students for their actions has merits and demerits. First and foremost, praising students for scores could help them to develop a confidence which is key to success in every field of life. For instance, if a class teacher highlights the strength of pupils rather them critizing them for their errors, they will feel positive energy in them and ultimately they will overcome their shortcomings. In sharp contrast, some notorious students take an extra advantage of this policy and don't concentrate on their performance such as they think that they will not be penalized for their low grades. This attitude puts them in a vicious cycle and their scores further decline with the passage of time. In conclusion, I believe that even though rewards can be some time counter productive, mostly it enhance children performance by developing healthy competition among students. It is the need of the hour to minimize corporal punishments and promote rewards policy.