Students perform better in school when they are rewarded rather than punished. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The outcome of disciplining students has become a hot topic, with the help of research in mental health, and some people think that they would show more success in their schools when encouraged for good deeds, rather than punishing them for their mistakes. I strongly believe, they will bloom better in their adult life, when punishment is abolished, for two main reasons. One of the main reasons against punishment in school is post-traumatic stress they develop afterwards. As they have very tender minds which are still developing, any negative encounter would act as trauma in their psych, which would hinder their potentials. Research has shown, for instance, every student has a different coping mechanism and universal criteria, as a rule, should not be applied to all. This would, in turn, make students feel alienated from other students. Next, comes the disruption of their creative potentials, because they learn new things only to get some awards. Fearless minds adapt better in practice in everyday life, where they adapt well to different aspects of adult life. It has been found in several human studies of many criminals that they were abused in their childhood. These imply that any abuse in childhood has catastrophic consequences on a pupil’s thought process. In summary, even though the practice of punishing students has been existing in schools for many centuries, provided it has a huge hindrance on their mental development, it should be discouraged. If we want a prosperous generation, we need to praise them for works and discourage punishments in academic environments.