Some people think that hosting an international sports event is good for the country, while some people think it is bad. Discuss both views and state your opinion.

Being an organiser of international sports events is considered as a matter of prestige for a country whereas some people opined that it is not good for a country. Both of the viewpoints will be discussed in this essay. For a nation, hosting an international sports event opens the door for many novel opportunities. For example, it gives a boost to the tourism sector as many international sportsmen,media,spectators etc. travel across the border to witness the moment. Apart from that, building an infrastructure to host an event of such a scale leads to massive construction work which gives employment to the poor as well as skilled people, which in turn leads to the boom in the economy. Also, the up gradation of the ports facilities and public transportation is a consequential outcome. The status of that country is enhanced in the global arena and it gives exposure to the local budding players by making them witness the competition of the highest scale. On the other hand, a section of individuals thinks that it is not beneficial for a state to host such types of events. The reason is that a huge sum of money is spent on the preparation as well as main events which could otherwise be spent on making the people of lower economic strata meet both ends. They feel that the government must prioritise the things and focus on providing the basic amenities rather than spending it on the unnecessary things requiring a handsome expenditure. For instance, a man dying from hunger has nothing to do with sports. To conclude, such events should be hosted by those countries which have been able to provide their citizens with the basic needs of life. Poor and developing countries should focus on training the sportsmen by providing them with enough facilities,cash assistance withalong a good diet. They should also try to eliminate poverty before thinking about organising international competitions involving the outlay of such a hefty amount.