Earlier technological developments brought more benefits and changed the lives of ordinary people more than recent technological developments. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Improvements in technology that occurred in the distant past produced more positive effects than the developments that have occurred in the last few years. I completely agree with this statement and the following paragraphs shall outline the reasons for this belief. The early telephone completely revolutionized the way business was done and benefited humanity greatly. For the first,time people could send messages long distances with ease and the pace of business increased dramatically making more people richer and creating more job opportunities. However, these days when the latest iPhone update comes out the only real shift has to do with fashion rather than providing any real new benefits. For example, now you can upload items to a ‘cloud’, or play more advanced games, but neither of these advancements in any way compares to the early time phones were released to the public. Similarly to the above, the early computers also transformed the way companies ran their businesses. Previously there were filing cabinets full of paperwork and accessing that information could take hours to locate the piece of information that you wanted. In,contrast though, computers have been around for so long now that they have almost reached their limit in terms of how useful they could possibly be. For example, the only real modification that happens now is new releases of the Windows operating system and the so-called growth is actually just considered an annoying transformation to many rather than actual progress. In summary, the most profound long-lasting impacts that technology has brought us occurred many years ago. These days’ beneficial development now comes in very small increments and I believe that will continue to be the case in the future.