Countries with a long average working time are more economically successful than those countries which do not have a long working time. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

A country ’s economic prosperity lies in the citizens’ hard work. While expanding citizens’ working hours, however, may bring a country more productivity to some degree, I do not agree that forcing people to keep a long working time could completely determine its economic power. First of all, to increase average working time is not the best solution for the economic problems of a country because long- time and stressful working will lead to a series of negative results to a country, especially the decrease of working efficiency. Generally, people are more relaxed able in their work when they thought that they have enough time to complete their work. They did not perform their duties well during whole office hours every day and approximately take 3 hours break in a day, which means that there is nothing to differences between the achievements of 12 hours working and 8 hours working. This can be seen as an expression of a waste of productivity. Therefore, a longer working time cannot guarantee an excellent efficiency of working so as to benefit the development of a country ’s economy. In addition, when persons performed their work with honesty or with full of determination, there is no need to increase the average working hours. If national institutions force them to do that, they are likely to not keep the balance between their works and spare- time life. In long working hours, employees will not be able to pay attention to their families. All the time they engaged in office work will result in much burden on them, which could make them feel anxiety all the time. Excessive pressure would reduce their satisfaction in jobs, causing so many mental or physical diseases such as depression and inappetence that they have to choose to abandon their job, which might cause a muddle of a nationally economic or industrial department. To summarize, the best approach that a country achieves to huge development of economic level is to reasonably arrange its citizens’ working time instead of increasing average working hours without any consideration.