People nowadays tend to have children at older ages. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In today’s world, having children at older ages has become increasingly popular in recent years. Although this can have certain demerits, it is my firm belief that the merits of having children later in life are more considerable. On the one hand, there are some drawbacks when having children at older ages. One of the most significant negative impacts is that it may create a generation gap. This is mainly because parents may be too old when their first child enters puberty, which is when there is a great change in their attitude. As a result, there may be a lack of mutual understanding between the parents and the children. Another negative effect is that having children at older ages may lead to an ageing population. As a consequence, senior citizens may have to work full-time even though they are too old to work. For example, in Japan, one of the countries with the highest ageing population rate in the world, the government has increased the retirement age from 60 to 65. On the other hand, I personally believe that the benefits of having children later in life are more significant. To begin with, parents can choose the most appropriate educational style for their children. The main reason is that before having children, people have enough time to investigate the advantages and disadvantages of parenting methods. Also, many parents may observe and receive advice from friends, their parents and other experienced people, so this may help them become wise parents. Moreover, people may have the financial ability to raise their children. As a result, the children can fully develop intellectually and healthily. For instance, in recent years many parents have babies at a time when they did not have enough finances so their children may not receive the best benefits. In conclusion, while there are certain downsides of having children later regarding the generation gap between parents and their children and an ageing population, I am firmly convinced that the upsides in terms of being able to choose the most appropriate educational style and having the financial ability are weightier.