Some people think the advantages of international tourism outweigh its disadvantages. To what extent do you agree?

Travel and tourism have been an indispensable part of human life since the dawn of civilization. Post-invention of aeroplanes, international travelling has been more convenient than ever before. Although travel across the globe is gaining popularity, there are arguments about the pros and cons of such increased tourism worldwide. This essay will outline some drawbacks of international travel and explain why I feel the advantages supersede. A group believes that such a hike in international tourism has some concerning aspects. First of all, it requires the consumption of a huge amount of fossil fuel to run the specific vehicles to reach another country. To visit a nation far away the only modes to commute are aeroplanes or ships or vessels, which are run by the energy generated from the combustion of natural resources like petroleum or coal in humongous quantity. Apart from this, utilising these sources of energy to an unlimited extent can cause tremendous negative impacts on nature. Extracting those natural resources involves nature-destructive means such as mining or deforestation, which also hamper the balance of the ecosystem. On the contrary, another group, including me, argues about the superseding advantages of international tourism while they suggest the aforementioned flaws can be curtailed with strict government policies. According to them, travelling abroad provides new opportunities for both students and working individuals. In recent times, an Indian student securing a scholarship or post-graduation degree from a University in the US, or an owner of a small business from a tiny Srilankan village exporting his products to UAE, for example, are not uncommon instances. Adding to this, such an increase in touristry also contributes to the nation’s economy. The third world countries like Bangladesh and Pakistan earn almost 40% of their finances from foreign travellers, posits a news article published in The Hindu. Certainly, the positive aspects of international travel outweigh the drawbacks. In conclusion, international tourism might have some perceived disadvantages, which, however, can be eradicated with the invention of new resources of energy. The opportunities travelling abroad provides us with, in my opinion, are far more advantageous.