In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, several countries were facing citizen health issues, which are caused by overconsumption of readymade meals. As a result, the solution came up with imposing junk foods tax by their government. I personally agree that increasing the tax on fast foods is needful as an effective way to change the consumption habits of customers and reduce the risk of people suffering from diseases caused by such foods. To begin with, it turns out imposing a higher tax could encourage everyone to change their eating habit. Since, when the price of fast foods come to more costly, low-income people tend to reconsider paying for them and end up with purchase more healthy foods. There is an article in “ Food Journal” which is such a good example. The writer said: the outcomes of Korean junk food shops were significantly dropped in 2010 which was the first year that the Korean government imposed a higher tax on fast food. Furthermore, the higher taxes on ready-to-eat foods will carry out the lower chance of having many diseases such as obesity, diabetes, and high cholesterol. One reason is when fast foods are not the first choice of customers because of their price, people will narrow the unhealthy food consumption down. Consequently, this new normal consumption habit can help a person to get away from those sufferings. According to scientific research from UC Berkley university, in 2015, the more expensive cost of fast foods could decline the percentage of obese admitted patients in UK hospitals by 30 percent. Although, increasing the tax be able to deter the habit of eating fast food for just only one group which is who cannot afford the foods when they become overpriced. Nevertheless, this solvation still effective to change some of the customer’s habits and overcome the health issues caused by fast food.