Some people think that new houses should be built in the same style as the older houses in the local area. Others disagree and say local authorities should allow people to build houses in the style of their own choice. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

While some people argue that contemporary houses should be constructed in the same style as houses built in the past in local areas, others believe that residents should have a choice in deciding what style to choose. In my opinion, people should be allowed to decide what types of styles are to be used when constructing a building. The most compelling argument in favor of those who believe that the style of homes should stay the same is the reluctance of anything new. This opinion might especially concern the older generation who have a traditional way of thinking and things they like. If the government is to build buildings using the contemporary style, these sector of people might be violated and at unrest because they want to conserve the style used on older houses. For example, in Norway, more and more cities are becoming modern which affects people ’s attitude towards the government. Nevertheless, authorities should make it possible for a variation of styles used when erecting a house. The argument in favor of this statement is that by enabling people to express themselves by choosing what style is to be used, the city will become full of different types of infrastructure which can attract visitors from around the world. Furthermore, by allowing people to choose the building style of their own, the city will become less dull as it might be interpreted as daunting if it filled with the same building styles. To sum up, even though some people might be against enabling the authorities choose the building style, from my perspective it might be beneficial to the city’s prospects in terms of attracting visitors from all over the world.